h1

So I Played League of Legends tonight…

June 12, 2011

The short version is, it’s okay. For me though, I think it’s more a case of hype backlash than anything. I’ve been hearing for months now about how great League of Legends is from magazine articles and webcomic legends, and even a couple of people I’ve met out in the real world.

So, today (or technically yesterday I guess), I decided to download it. You know, see for myself what all the talk is about, and sort of get a hands-on feel for it. And I have to tell you, it wasn’t what I expected at all. I mean, from the way it’s been talked up, I was expecting an FPS-style fantasy game, like World of Warcraft or Vindictus, combined with like a trading card game. And that’s not what the game is. It’s pretty much Warcraft 3 multiplayer with a card game.

And really, there’s nothing bad about the game itself. It’s fun, the models are very well done, everything works like it should, the “freemium” content is handled very well, and the card game aspect adds to the already high quality base game. But it’s nothing really spectacular. Don’t get me wrong, it’s very good. Fantasy RTS isn’t really my thing, and I would still give it a B+/A-. But there’s really nothing new here.

Leave a comment