h1

Review: Super Mario World

August 18, 2012

Alright, just very quickly before I begin the review, I have some business of a political matter to take care of. I do not like Mitt Romney’s choice of Paul Ryan as the presumptive Vice Presidential nominee, and it’s not on any sort of political or ideological grounds (although yes there are differences). It’s mainly the fact that his surname is also my given name, so I have to spend the next two months involuntarily eavesdropping on people to find out if they’re talking about the election or if they’re addressing me. So that’s going to be fun.

So, on to Super Mario World. This was probably (Don’t have a photographic memory. Wish I did.) the first console game I ever played. I qualify that because slightly before I got the Super Nintendo, I got a Game Boy, back when I was, oh, probably seven or eight years old. And Super Mario World is the game that came bundled with the Super Nintendo.

I am going to be completely honest with you. Truth time. I have never actually finished Super Mario World. I don’t know what exactly it was about it, but I could never really stay focused on the game. I don’t even think there was anything about the gameplay that turned me off. The story was kind of…well, basic, although I will say that going through the different castles and the ! switches were kind of a nice touch. I don’t know. I just never got excited about the game. It was more just something to do when I was bored instead of a goal in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

