h1

The New 360 Dashboard: Eeah?

December 7, 2011

Well, now that Xbox Live isn’t fucked out the ass anymore from everyone trying to download the new update all at once, here are my thoughts.

It’s alright.

I really wasn’t looking forward to this one. Like, at all. I’m really not a fan of the new Metro style, with its tile format. It just seems like it could lead to a clusterfuck, and besides that, I happen to like my little icons the way they are. (Who knew you could sound like a cranky old grandpa at 24?)

So I went in to this expecting it to be bad. Not like, D-Day, Omaha beach bad, but more like dumped-a-piece-of-cherry-pie-in-your-lap bad. But in reality…eeah? This has somewhat moderated my stance on the Metro style. I’m still not crazy about it for computers, but for game consoles or cell phones, yeah, I can deal. The new cloud memory for saved games seems like it could be really convenient, and the new social media apps seem like they could really be useful for people who can’t be assed to put down the controller to go on the internet. From this point out, as long as it keeps playing my games, I can learn to live with it, like a cough that comes and goes, or for those  more versed in Cold War culture, the omnipresent threat of nuclear war.

Leave a Reply

