h1

Why I’m Bummed About The New GoldenEye

November 21, 2011

Back in…1999 or 2000, somewhere about there, I was given GoldenEye 007 for the N64 as a birthday gift. By this point, I’d already rented it at least half a dozen times, if not more. I loved the game, it must have been the only one I’d played for weeks (now that I think about it, that game might be why my grades went down towards the end of middle school going into high school). It was my first taste of local multiplayer, too. I’d played games before, but with GoldenEye it felt like my first time all over again.

And that paragraph right there, those four sentences and one parenthetical, is why I can’t get excited about the new one. I am physically and mentally incapable of genuine excitement about this game. I’ve seen the gameplay, and the game looks very, very good. I have nothing to complain about with this game, aside from the changed story. The visuals are great, the action is fantastic, and if it were any other game, even if they just made it a generic Bond game, I’d be so fucking there.

But because of my history with the original, I’d never be able to enjoy this. There would always be a filter over my experience colored by the N64.

Leave a Reply

