h1

The Rapture Connection (Warning: BioShock Spoilers Ahoy!)

November 9, 2011

Well, I was going to talk about the relationship between Minecraft and Legos, but I found out about something that is so rich in potential that I can’t pass it up.

Last night, I was watching the 1:30 rerun of The Colbert Report, and he was talking about how a Silicon Valley billionaire was trying to get a series of island-cities built to be a bastion of libertarianism. My first thought was “Wait, what?” Well, actually, that was my second thought. My first thought was “Holy shit, BioShock!” I think you can tell where this is going by now.

I’m not the only one who sees it, right? I mean, you can see where I get the connection from, right? A wealthy industrialist gets fed up with government in the United States and decides to go build his own city-state out in the middle of the ocean with a society of  little to no restrictions on behavior, industry, and science. Although, if I remember right, the last time didn’t end too well.

Yeah, didn’t think so. Although, I do have a little advice in the incredibly remote chance that Mr. Thiel stumbles across this piddly little blog taking about his plan. If you find in the middle of the ocean sea slugs that can produce stem cells, do not implant them into children. Discounting the fact that it’s creepy as fuck, it’s liable to start a civil war that will destroy your civilization.

It would be in your self-interest to pay the blue collars that join up with you in the Pacific a decent wage, otherwise you’ll all eventually be up to your ankles in human waste. Finally, prefacing any orders with “Would you kindly” ensures complete obedience.

That post about Minecraft and Legos will be up sometime tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

