h1

September 11th

September 11, 2011

What with this being the tenth anniversary of the September 11th attacks, I’d really like to be able to say something poignant and meaningful, but that’s not really my thing. I’m really more of a praise-and-find-fault-with-games-and-movies kind of guy. That’s my wheelhouse. So instead, I’m just going to talk about what I was doing at the time.

On September 11th, I was about two, maybe three weeks into my freshman year of high school. When the planes actually hit, I was about three-quarters of the way through algebra I. Class ended at about 9:10, I head off to third period art. When I get there, the teacher has a TV set up, so I figure maybe we’re going to watch a documentary about art or something like that. Then I notice that the news is on. So I ask him what’s going on, and he tells me “Someone flew planes into the Twin Towers.”

So we watched. Some of the other students were crying quietly, others were visibly shaken, and still others, myself included, could only sit there and watch. The rest of the day, everyone went through the motions of going from class to class, but we all knew that we weren’t going to do anything. My dad picked me up, and we went back to the factory he worked at in silence. When we got back home, the first thing I did was turn on the news. We watched all night, and I assume my parents were watching after I’d gone to bed.

But I think the thing that surprised me the most is the way that the United States came together, and how Europe came together with us. Bush didn’t exactly make any friends overseas, what with the whole “not signing the Kyoto Protocol” thing, but after the attacks none of that seemed to matter. All of the problems we had with each other, be it North/South, America/Europe, or East Coast/West Coast, all of it seemed to melt away. Because that attack wasn’t directed at just New York or just Washington. They were attacking America. For the first time since Pearl Harbor, we were able to put aside our complex history, and we were able to say to each other “We’ve got to get these motherfuckers,” and Europe was willing to have our backs in this fight.

We got knocked down. But only because we were suckerpunched in the stomach and in the throat. But we’re back now.

Anyway, I’ll have the next part of the SimCity 4 LP up tomorrow!

(Note: If you post about any conspiracy stuff, it’s not going up. That’s not what this is here for. If you want to talk conspiracy, go start your own blog. They’re free.)

Leave a Reply

