h1

How does Time–Life set their prices?

July 4, 2011

I mean, they’re selling The Six Million Dollar Man, the complete series for $240. Two hundred. Forty. Dollars. What. I feel that the question has to be asked: Is The Six Million Dollar Man worth what I could pay monthly for a used car? And every time I ask my brain that question, all I get back is a snickering laugh. And not one of those, I-just-thought-of-something-really-funny laughs. No, it’s one of those, there’s-no-way-I-can-keep-it-together-long-enough-to-say-no laughs.

And really, part of that comes from how Time–Life is playing up the series in the ads. Really, Time–Life? The seminal series of the seventies? I don’t know for sure, but I think that M*A*S*H, Taxi, The Beverly Hillbillies, Bewitched, I Dream of Jeannie, Happy Days, Jeopardy!, The Price is Right, The Odd Couple, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Muppet Show, The Red Foxx Show, The Richard Pryor Show, The Rockford Files, Rowan and Martin’s Laugh-In, Sanford and Son, Saturday Night Live, Sessame Street, Sports Center, Starsky and Hutch, Three’s Company, Wheel of Fortune, and WKRP in Cincinnati might have a little something to say about that.

And that’s not to say that I don’t think that The Six Million Dollar Man  is any good; I’m sure it’s a perfectly fine show. I just don’t think it’s two hundred forty dollar good.

And on another topic entirely, why do they helpfully point out that none of these offers are available anywhere else? I mean it’s not like they’re completely ignorant of the internet. The do have a website, after all. But I don’t think that they know about file sharing in any of it’s manifold forms. Oh yes. There are free things on the internet, and some of them come from sources that are…not entirely scrupulous. (Holy shit, how did I manage to spell that right on the first try?) Anyone with a rudimentary knowledge of the shadier corners of the internet, or a teenager, can find and trade data with many anonymous partners. Really, it’s like the 1960s in here, only with less drugs and sex, and more dick jokes and homophobia.

I’m just saying, their pricing structure is faulty.

Leave a Reply

